Harriers’ Women Lift Ron Merrie Cup

Colchester Harriers’ women picked up from where they left off in 2021 as they fought off close competition from both Havering AC and Victoria Park and Tower Hamlets AC to win the Ron Merrie Cup, the trophy awarded to the winners of the annual Essex County Cross-Country Championships. This year’s event, held at a wet and blustery Gloucester Park in Basildon, attracted a strong field from across the county, but saw Colchester’s teamwork pay off with all five of their runners finishing in the top 22. Lydia Callan led the way, with her sixth position finish also gaining her a place in the Essex team for the national inter-counties championships in Loughborough in March. Callan was backed up by strong runs from Victoria Primmer (14th), Emma Burgess (16th), Tracy English (21st) and Denise Morley (22nd) as Harriers took the trophy for the first time since 2011.

Harriers’ senior men’s teams also competed strongly, with the “A” team finishing fifth and the “B” team a very creditable seventh. Top performers were Jordan Middlemist (26th), Cameron Humphries (28th), James Morley (29th), David Branfoot (37th), Nate Filer (45th) and Chris Sellens (46th), whilst Max Caulfield finished an excellent sixth in the under-20 race to also take a place in the Essex team for Loughborough.

Essex Cross-Country Championships – full results:

Senior Women: 6th – Lydia Callan, 14th – Victoria Primmer, 16th – Emma Burgess, 21st – Tracy English, 22nd – Denise Morley.

Senior Men: 26th – Jordan Middlemist, 28th – Cameron Humphries, 29th – James Morley, 37th – David Branfoot, 45th – Nate Filer, 46th – Chris Sellens, 59th – Jonathan Nears, 62nd – Dan Widdowson, 68th – Tim Ballard, 71st – Matt Shaw, 91st – Paul Rodgers, 99th – Peter West, 141st – Kevin Higgins, 171st – Dan Macey.

Under 20 Men – 6th – Max Caulfield.

Primmer and Burgess conquering the hill at Gloucester Park
Morley, Primmer, Callan and Burgess all finished in the top 22.
Ladies XC captain Tracy English with the Ron Merrie Cup and County team gold medals. Chris Akehurst photobombing!